Something Old, Something New

No I’m not getting married, though I will say if I ever do it again it will be at Disney. (Don’t worry honey, I’m thinking more a recommitment ceremony down the road sometime!). Every time we visit the parks we do something old — something we’ve done before and absolutely love. These are rides like The Carousel of Progress, The Haunted Mansion, and Space Ship Earth. Though there have been a few changes to these rides over the years, they are old friends I hope to keep visiting year after year.

But each time we go to the parks we try to experience something new. Sometimes this means pushing our boundaries like riding Big Thunder Mountain Railroad with the man who doesn’t like roller coasters.

In 12 days we will be returning to the Happiest Place on Earth, and we have a list of new experiences to try! Some are revamps of old friends like the Tiki Room and Star Tours. For me the Tiki Room will be the return of a beloved childhood experience, which I will get to share with my husband. Other than on CD he’s never heard the original song since Zazu and Iago had been interrupting it for the last few years.

Then there is the list of things we add to push our boundaries. This year we are going to try the Tower of Terror! I’m hoping to do Expedition Everest, and still holding out hope that the husband man will brave this with me. If not, at least I hope to convince him to stand in line with me until I get on and enjoy the experience of the queue line.

And of course Disney is always evolving and changing. Though we had hopes for the Fantasyland Expansion for this trip, we’ll just have to save those for the next time!

About stitchva

Huge Disney fan living in SWVA, wishing she were closer to Disney!
This entry was posted in Animal Kingdom, Hollywood Studios (MGM), Magic Kingdom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Something Old, Something New

  1. YAY! I hope you have a great time. I am very glad the tiki room has been returned to its former glory. Be sure to have a citrus swirl right next to it now that the Florida Orange Bird is back too!

    • stitchva says:

      I remember the Florida Orange Bird well from my trips as a child to Disney World! It’s so much fun sharing those old memories with my husband and watching him experience them for the first time. It’s good we both still have a LOT of kid inside us!

Leave a Reply

