There and Back Again – Day Three

Of course we returned for another day at Disney, but this time we had company. Our nieces came with us and we began our day at Hollywood Studios (which is still MGM to me) so that they could audition at the American Idol Experience. They have more guts than I do! While neither made it past the first round, I found the voice coach to be very supportive, positive and helpful. We then soothed their disappointment with a stop at Starring Rolls Cafe where we began and failed at the The Disney Food Blog 2012 Cupcake Crawl.

For some insane reason we got four cupcakes. My husband and I decided on the Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcake, and the Butterfinger Cupcake to share between us. My nieces each got a Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcake. We didn’t make it through all four though we made a valiant effort! My husband definitely preferred the Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcake, from the shaved chocolate curls on to, to the mound of icing beneath to the moist delicious cake to the wonderful chocolate peanut butter filling! But I’m still not sure which was my favorite, which just means I’ll have to go back and try them again next trip!

I then hit a milestone. I have now conquered all the Disney Roller Coasters. My niece and I did the single rider line for the Rock ‘n’ Roller Coaster, which launches to loop at zero to 60 miles per hour in 2.8 seconds and has three inversions. Loved it!! I’m not sure why I waited so long to try this. It rocked! The coasters I remember from my childhood were from amusement parks one step up from carnivals. They were often jerky and bumpy and far from smooth. I rode them as a kid, but only remember doing one as a college student at Bush Gardens and not being impressed. I felt like I was jerked all over the place, ended up with a headache and didn’t enjoy the experience at all. I should have know the Mouse would do better! Don’t skip the coasters. They are amazing! And, if you can’t get a fast pass, I strongly recommend the single rider line!

After this we all flew to Hoth, delivering the rebel spy safely on our third time riding Star Tours. And then we visited the Art of Animation Studio before splitting up. Husband and I stayed inside the Studio to meet Sorcerer Mickey, Pooh who told me they just weren’t feeding him enough honey and he had a rumbly in his tumbly, and Mr. and Mrs. Incredible, and then headed off to visit our old friends at Muppet Vision 3D. We can’t help snickering as Sweetums shows up in person as he’s also on the screen. I decided this time it’s actually Sweetum’s cousin Bob on screen.

From Hollywood Studios we headed to Animal Kingdom. It was Everest time for me and one of my nieces brave enough to face the Yeti. As she said, after singing in front of a stranger nothing else scared her! Until that lap bar locked down. Actually I think she loved it, and I would like to thank the person in the single rider line before us who was willing to switch so we could ride together. I love the kindness of Disney strangers.

My nieces decided since they were only here for one day they wanted to do all four parks. I can’t imagine doing Disney World without getting Park Hoppers, but normally we stay on property and only do four parks in one day if we take advantage of Extra Magic Hours. We had to pick and choose carefully, only having time for a few more things at Animal Kingdom before heading off to Magic Kingdom were again we split up, letting the girls explore while we visited the Haunted Mansion again, and returned to the Monster World to help them with their energy crisis (The Laugh Floor). The decision was made to end the day at Epcot since my nieces wanted to see Illuminations. It’s a wonderful show, but since husband and I had seen it we decided to let them head over to the World Showcase while we traveled back to The Land. We grabbed ourselves a bite to eat at Sunshine Seasons, and then finished our day on Living with the Land, which has my favorite Hidden Mickey! While we were in the greenhouses we could see and hear the fireworks going off. Perfect way to end a Disney day!

Now to start planning for the next trip!

About stitchva

Huge Disney fan living in SWVA, wishing she were closer to Disney!
This entry was posted in Animal Kingdom, Dining, EPCOT, Fast Pass, Hollywood Studios (MGM), Magic Kingdom and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

